[2023] Happy Straps – Pleasures 1985-86 (Vinyl)

On 1st December 2023, a Happy Straps compilation of their two albums was released. The compilation “Pleasures 1985-86” was released on vinyl, cassette and digitally.

Christian “Flake” Lorenz and Paul Landers were members of the GDR rock band. The band existed from 1984 to 1986. Flake is featured on all the songs on the compilation.

“The sun rose in the East also ideologically, which explains why the GDR was dark at its core. “We live in paradise. But we don’t know it.” sang the Happy Straps, evoking that limbo of a reac- tionary socialism masquerading as progressive. The Happy Straps were a typical underground growth, deeply rooted in East Berlin’s alternative scene. A state “playing permit”, for which “classification” would have been required, was never attempted. The band’s stylistics did not fit the ideologically targeted programme. Their dark sound, remained alien to Ostrock.

In 1985/86 one by one all members of the Happy Straps left the GDR for the West. “Pleasures 1985-1986” is made up of a compilation of the tapes “What a Pleasure” and “Last Pleasure”. Both tapes originally appeared in an edition of about 50 copies each.”

1. We Live In Paradise 03:07
2. Railway Station 03:24
3. Running Away 04:30
4. Imagination 04:04
5. If You Never Look Behind 04:57
6. Midnight Dream 05:10
7. White Bird 03:46
8. Someone 01:24
9. Tape Song 04:39
10. Cinema 03:52
11. New Song 03:53
12. Tod 01:07
13. Bath In Champagne 05:33

01-06 taken from „What A Pleasure“, 1985

07-13 taken from „Last Pleasure“, 1986

The digital and cassette version includes “If You Never Look Behind” and “Cinema”, both not present on the vinyl.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/rammwiki/posts/pfbid02zA7r7ztnK6Uzpe7dFSZRA88c7fVkZAYH3oTnG2Z1vKDr7renjtVtsLqJBV1w5soEl

Comments are closed.